HomeRCAMDirectoryParishesNewsLibraryGalleryDonationLinksContact Us
2014 MACC Painting Competition Winners Announced

The Manila Archdiocesan Commission for the Cultural Heritage of the Church (MACC) announced the winners of its annual painting competition in a simple ceremony held last January 24 at the Museo ng Arkodiyosesis ng Maynila (MANA), Arzobispado de Manila, Intramuros.

Wendel Mallari, 20, from Tarlac State University, won first prize with his “Matibay na Sandigan” acrylic painting, which showed a father, carrying his son, while holding an image of the Sto. Niño and braving waist-high flood. Christian Cedrick M. Dela Paz, 20, of the Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology placed second with his “Re-Lihiyo (To Tie Again)”, a rendition of the crucifixion scene, while Joseph L. Fraylon, 19, from the Technological University of the Philippines – Manila, copped third place with his “Panalangin”. Three other entries were declared “jurors’ choices”: Loraine Marie C. Pre’s “Lift Up Your Heart”, Joseph David P. Requilme’s “Savior”, and Christian D. Antonio’s “Pagtanto sa Makabuluhang Layunin”. 

The judges of this year’s competition were Mr. Alex Benito Alcantara of the Old Manila gallery, Mr. Ruel Caasi, an independent curator, and Prof. Jaime David de los Santos of the University of Santo Tomas – College of Fine Arts and Design. 

The MACC annual painting competition seeks to foster contemporary artistic interpretations of the Catholic faith among young artists, and to promote awareness and appreciation of religious art. For the 2014 competition, the artists were given the freedom to work on any religious theme. 

The winning entries and other finalists will be on exhibit at the Museo ng Arkodiyosesis ng Maynila, 3rd Floor Arzobispado de Manila, 121 Arsobispo St., Intramuros, Manila, from January 24 until February 20, 2015, Monday to Friday, from 9am to 4pm (break: 12nn-1pm). 

“Matibay na Sandigan”
First Prize
Wendel Mallari
Tarlac State University

“Re-Lihiyo (To Tie Again)”
Second Prize
Christian Cedrick M. Dela Paz
Eulogio “Amang” Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology

Third Prize
Joseph L. Fraylon
Technological University of the Philippines – Manila