HomeRCAMDirectoryParishesNewsLibraryGalleryDonationLinksContact Us
Espiritu Santo Parish Declared Archdiocesan Shrine


The Espiritu Santo Parish in Tayuman, Sta. Cruz, Manila has been declared by Manila Archbishop Luis Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle an Archdiocesan Shrine and will be known as the Archdiocesan Shrine  of Espiritu Santo. The decree of establishment will be formally implemented on June 8, 2014, the Solemnity of the Pentecost.

The petition for the parish to be made a shrine was made by its parish priest, Msgr. Alberto G. Salonga and the parish community.

The Parish of Espiritu Santo was established on December 19, 1926, and placed  under the administration of the Divine Word Fathers (SVD). Its first parish priest was Fr. William Finneman, SVD. Its church, which still stands today, was fully completed and solemnly blessed on May 14, 1932.

The SVD Fathers turned over the Espiritu Santo Parish to the diocesan clergy with Msgr. Gorgonio Encarnacion as first diocesan parish priest. Other parish priests included Msgr. Emmanuel Sunga, and Msgr. Norberto Habos. Msgr. Salonga has been its parish priest for 16 years.

As a shrine, the Holy Spirit Shrine will promote and encourage devotion to the Holy Spirit not only within the community but also within the archdiocese and other dioceses. In lifting the moratorium on petitions to declare churches as shrines, Cardinal Tagle said that Shrines “have the distinct function and mission to keep alive and promote the mystery of faith through these devotions.”

Cardinal Tagle will preside at the Mass on the Solemnity of Pentecost and Proclamation and Dedication of Espiritu Santo Parish as Archdiocesan Shrine on  June 8, 2014 at 8 a.m.